Carolyn Lord - Perspective Drawing for Artists, Part I (Online); Tuesdays, January 4-25, 2022

This class is no longer available for registration. View the Online Course Catalog for all current class listings.

Date: Tuesdays, January 4-25, 2022 (4-week course)
Time: 9:30 AM-12:00PM Pacific Time/12:30-3:00 PM Eastern Time/5:30-8:00 PM London Time
Level: All
Medium: Drawing

Supply List PDF – right-click or option-click to download

Join Carolyn Lord in a perspective drawing class designed for both the novice and the experienced artist.  Students will learn the vocabulary and principles of 2-point perspective; gain the skills and confidence to observe and draw geometric forms in the studio; and then apply those perspective skills to draw buildings. There will be demonstrations, exercises, and opportunities to practice. The perspective drawing lessons will include concepts of light, shadow, values, edges, and composition.

This workshop will shift between 3 types of lessons: analytical, observational, applied. The analytical lessons will be done on newsprint, drawing flat on a table. You’ll need a desk or a drafting, card, dining, or coffee table. The observational lessons will be at an easel, drawing white boxes, set 5 to 10 feet away from your easel. Applying the lessons to buildings and street scenes will be virtual and photographs will be provided as part of the instruction.

Carolyn Lord is an artist who paints the landscape, gardens, and architecture of her native California.  American Artist, Watercolor Artist, and Plein Air magazines; Savvy Painter, and Learn to Paint podcasts have profiled Lord’s career and artwork. She is a Signature member of California Art Club, National Watercolor Society, and American Women Artists. Lord has been in numerous solo and group shows,  and plein air events.   www.carolynlord.com

This class is no longer available for registration.