Tara Will - Pastels: Seeing and Understanding Value and Color (Online); Mondays, February 7-28, 2022

This class is no longer available for registration. View the Online Course Catalog for all current class listings.

Date: Mondays, February 7-28, 2022
Time:  11:00 AM-1:30PM Pacific Time (2:00-4:30PM Eastern Time/7:00-9:30PM London Time)
Level: All
Medium: Pastels

Supply List PDF – right-click or option-click to download

Pastels are a great intuitive medium with a wide range of application. This workshop will focus on value, color, and markmaking. Using pastels, we will explore learning to see value accurately, big shapes, and color. Demonstrations, critique, and painting individually will help students grasp concepts that will help them understand how to accurately represent their OWN photo references. 

A Maryland artist, Tara Will grew up watching the creative hands of her grandmother and had a love of creating from a young age. She attended Mount Saint Mary’s University in Maryland, double majoring in Art and Philosophy. Tara has participated in numerous national plein air competitions, painting from coast-to-coast. She enjoys painting quickly, trying to capture the essence of the space using bold colors and strong marks. She predominantly works in pastels, but occasionally ventures into oils. In 2017, Tara achieved her Master Circle Status with the International Association of Pastel Societies. She is a Signature Member of Maryland Pastel Society and an Associate Member of Pastel Society of America. Tara has been featured in the Pastel Journal’s Magazine Pastel 100 in both 2017 and 2018. In 2021 she was featured in Southwest Art Magazine’s Artists to Watch.

This class is no longer available for registration.