Scott Gellatly - Abstracting the Landscape: Lessons from Matisse and Diebenkorn (Online); Wednesdays, June 15 & 22, 2022

This class is no longer available for registration. View the Online Course Catalog for all current class listings.

Date: Wednesdays, June 15 & 22, 2022
Time: 3:00-6:00 PM Pacific Time, 6:00-9:00 PM Eastern Time, 11:00 PM-2:00 AM London Time
Level: All
Medium: Oil or acrylics

Henri Matisse’s modernist works from early 20th century Europe heavily influenced the mid-20th century West Coast American Richard Diebenkorn. Their shared representation of the visual world into flat color and interlocking shapes create a direct line of influence between the two master artists and provides relevant lessons for painters today. This class will focus on pulling imagery from the landscape to emphasize the formal aspects of painting – color, composition, movement, and space. Open to all oil and acrylic painters who are willing to let go, experiment and take chances! 

Scott Gellatly holds a degree in painting and drawing from the University of Oregon and has exhibited his work in solo and group exhibitions throughout the United States. A landscape painter at heart, Scott’s work has become more abstracted, with greater emphasis on pure color and gestural mark-making to evoke nature.

Scott is an Oregon native and lives in Portland with his family. www.scottgellatly.com

This class is no longer available for registration.