Scott Gellatly - Abstracting the Landscape: Abstracting from Plein Air (Online); Wednesdays, May 4-25, 2022

This class is no longer available for registration. View the Online Course Catalog for all current class listings.

Date: Wednesdays, May 4-25, 2022
Time: 3:00-6:00 PM Pacific Time, 6:00-9:00 PM Eastern Time, 11:00 PM-2:00 AM London Time
Level: All
Medium: Oil or acrylics

Spring is here and it is time to capture visual information directly from the landscape! This course will emphasis creating effective plein air studies out in nature to use as prompts to abstract the landscape. This class will focus on pulling imagery from the landscape to emphasize the formal aspects of painting – color, composition, movement, and space. Open to all oil and acrylic painters who are willing to let go, experiment and take chances!

Scott Gellatly holds a degree in painting and drawing from the University of Oregon and has exhibited his work in solo and group exhibitions throughout the United States. A landscape painter at heart, Scott’s work has become more abstracted, with greater emphasis on pure color and gestural mark-making to evoke nature.

Scott is an Oregon native and lives in Portland with his family. www.scottgellatly.com

This class is no longer available for registration.