Mark Dunford - Painting: Flat Space (Online); Sundays, August 21 & 28, 2022

This class is no longer available for registration. Please view our Online Course Catalog for current class listings.

Date: Sundays, August 21 & 28, 2022
Time:
August 21 – 9:30 AM-12:30 PM Pacific Time/12:30-3:30 PM Eastern Time/5:30-8:30 PM London Time
August 28 – 9:30-11:30 AM Pacific Time/12:30-2:30 PM Eastern Time/5:30-7:30 PM London Time
Level: All (basic familiarity with painting useful)
Medium: Oil or acrylics

Paintings are made by seeing, feeling, and imagining relationships of colour, form, and space on a flat surface, often in response to three-dimensional stimuli.

The dilemma of flatness to ‘represent’ space will inform our investigations.

The course will provide opportunities to imagine and ‘touch’ surfaces and forms within space by arranging shapes, forms and colour and understanding the importance of the flat surface.

Artists through time, have constantly devised new ways to recognise, order and divide the picture surface to feel and question space by recession, overlap, pattern, light, and colour to celebrate the pictorial architecture, both complex and humble.

Students will work in their homes or studio spaces and paint from a variety of their own sources as prompted by the instructor each week. Students are encouraged to paint along and ask questions during instructor demonstrations.

Live Zoom demonstrations, course lectures, slide talks and Q & A sessions will cover formal and technical ideas as well as historical and contemporary examples of relevant paintings. Some basic familiarity with painting will be useful.

Mark Dunford studied at the Slade School of Fine Art, University College London, from 1982-1987, where he was taught by Euan Uglow, and Patrick George, continuing a preoccupation for painting appearances through William Coldstream’s advocacy. His awards include the Robert Ross Scholarship from the Slade and the Richard Ford Award from the Royal Academy of Arts and the Young Artists’ Award from the Royal Institute of Painters in watercolour.

Mark Dunford is an elected member of The London Group, and he exhibits regularly, in the UK and internationally. He lives and works in Cornwall and has taught painting and drawing since 1988 and is currently a Programme Team Leader for Art & Design.

Mark Dunford is a painter who works directly from his subject, using extreme drawing methods and charged emotional colour. Mark constantly refers to a wide range of art, including the work of Cézanne, Piero della Francesca, Mantegna, Constable, Chardin and Seurat and many others. tregonygallery.co.uk

This class is no longer available for registration because it was held in the past.  Please view our Online Course Catalog to see current classes.