Mark Daniel Nelson – Image to Abstract (Online); Mondays, January 22 & 29, 2024

This class is no longer available for registration. Please view our Online Course Catalog for current class listings.

Date: Mondays, January 22 & 29, 2024
Time: 12:00-1:30 PM Pacific Time, 3:00-4:30 PM Eastern Time, 8:00-9:30 PM London Time
Level: All
Medium: All media (including digital)

Discover ways to add elements of abstraction to your work while remaining firmly rooted in traditional representational techniques. Mark Daniel Nelson will guide you in the process of eliminating unnecessary visual information to arrive at a clear and simplified final image.  Through a combination of progressive exercises, slideshows, discussions, assignments and critiques, this class will expose students to new artistic possibilities for self-expression. Participants will work from their own reference photos. Work in any medium.

Mark Daniel Nelson approaches both painting and teaching in much the same way: He strives to simplify and organize information until it reaches its most potent, elemental form. A student of both representational and non-objective painting, Nelson regularly fuses seemingly incongruous approaches to create new and unexpected results. “I strive for two things,” the artist states in his characteristically blunt manner, “impact and beauty. Eliminate the unnecessary parts and you’re left with much more powerful, beautiful modes of expression.” Mark Daniel Nelson is represented by Maxwell Alexander Gallery in Culver City, California, Gallery 1261 in Denver, CO and Jack Meier Gallery in Houston, TX. He has taught extensively in Art History, Human Anatomy, Drawing and Painting across the US. markdanielnelson.com

This class is no longer available for registration because it was held in the past.  Please view our Online Course Catalog to see current classes.

Search Winslow classes by instructor, day, month, medium or keyword.