Lisa Bebi – Channeling Wayne Thiebaud: Cakes, Pies, Repeat! (Online); Fridays, July 14-28, 2023

This class is no longer available for registration. Please view our Online Course Catalog for current class listings.

Date: Fridays, July 14-28, 2023
Time: 11:00 AM-1:30 PM Pacific Time, 2:00-4:30 PM Eastern Time, 7:00-9:30 PM London Time
Level: All
Medium: All .

Supply List pdf

Wayne Thiebaud’s art is about happiness and the celebration of small pleasures. He was a realistic painter at a time when realism was out of vogue and abstract expressionism was in vogue. And yet, his work invoked such an insistence that the mid century viewer was compelled to look and compelled to enjoy. They were just too delicious.

In this class, we will delve into the brilliant techniques of Wayne Thiebaud’s colorful desserts. We will examine how he used color, texture and lighting to give the humble desert the visual command of a center stage act.

The proof of his genius was in his pudding (…and cakes, pies and cupcakes, candies……..etc) even during an era that was not ready to accept realism. Today, we just marvel.

San Diego artist Lisa Bebi is known for her sensitive yet simple depictions of vintage figures that often combine paint with black and white imagery. She spotlights her subjects within two-dimensional backgrounds to emphasize subtleties of sober character and to reveal interesting narratives. Since 2006, Bebi’s work and writings have been featured in Somerset Studio magazine, as well as numerous other publications and articles. Her award-winning work is shown in group and solo gallery exhibitions, both locally and nationally.

This class is no longer available for registration because it was held in the past.  Please view our Online Course Catalog to see current classes.

Search Winslow classes by instructor, day, month, medium or keyword.