Laura Vahlberg - One Shots: Painting Fast as Seasons Change (Online); Mondays, March 21 & 28, 2022

This class is no longer available for registration. Please view our Online Course Catalog for current class listings.

Dates: Mondays, March 21 & 28, 2022
Time: 9:00 AM-12:00 PM Pacific Time/12:00-3:00 PM Eastern Time/4:00-7:00 PM London Time
Level: All
Medium: Oil

Supply List – right-click or option-click to download

In this mini class we’ll make landscape paintings outside that are finished in one session. The French call these sorts of paintings “premier coups” or one-shots.
During the class we will talk about the mechanics of covering a canvas quickly and building a strong design from the ground up. We will explore how to find clarity within a sense of urgency. One-shots leave no time for over-thinking so making them can be a good way for a painter to get in touch with their gut instincts and sense of fun.

 

Laura Vahlberg’s work has been exhibited around the U.S. and internationally (in Italy, Alabama, and Virginia). She has studied under artists including Israel Hershberg, Elana Hagler, Sarah Rutherfoord, Susan Zurbrigg, Ken Szmagaj, and Susan Jane Walp. She was born in Alexandria, Virginia in 1988 and now lives in Roanoke, Virginia. She received her Bachelors in Fine Arts at James Madison University. https://www.lauravahlberg.com

This class is no longer available for registration because it was held in the past.  Please view our Online Course Catalog to see current classes.