Jean Mackay - The Art of the Bird (Online)

This class was held live over Zoom in the past and has ended. View the Online Course Catalog for all current class listings.

Date: Tuesdays, October 5-26, 2021
Time: 3:00-5:00PM Pacific Time /6:00-8:00 PM Eastern Time / 11:00 PM-1:00 AM London Time
Level: All (some drawing experience helpful)
Medium: Pencil, Ink, Watercolor

Material List PDF

This class will focus on the beauty that birds create in the form of eggs, feathers, and nests. The variety of shapes, patterns, and colors provide endless artistic possibilities. We’ll use a variety of media, including pencil, ink, and watercolor to capture eggs, feathers, and nests. Each class will include background natural history to help inform your artwork, demonstrations of various techniques, and practice lessons. Optional weekly assignments will help you practice and build your skills.

Jean Mackay is an artist, educator, and naturalist. She has been keeping an artist journal for more than nearly 20 years a way to study and share the beauty and diversity of nature, as well as to record the art of everyday living. Working in all kinds of settings, from tide pools to farm fields to her own backyard, Jean’s journals reflect a keen eye for detail and profound sense of wonder. Jean teaches at the Hog Island Audubon Camp in Maine and at the Art School of Columbia County in New York. Her blog, Drawn In, shares the ordinary, yet extraordinary things that she encounters close to home and farther afield. www.jeanmackayart.com

This class was held live over Zoom in the past.