Ian de Hoog - Dogs in Watercolor (Online); Sundays, January 9 & 16, 2022

This class was held live over Zoom in the past and has ended. View the Online Course Catalog for all current class listings.

Date: Sundays, January 9 & 16, 2022
Time: 2:30-5:30 PM Pacific Time, 5:30-8:30 PM Eastern Time, 10:30 PM-1:30 AM London Time
Level: All
Medium: Watercolor
Supply List – right-click or option-click to download

 

Join artist and instructor Ian de Hoog for a workshop where you will learn techniques to paint expressive pet portraits. Ian will share his method for conveying emotion and adding character to the subject.
Start class with tips for choosing a reference photo, selecting a composition and creating value sketches to establish the dog’s form. Then, we’ll take a look at some techniques for drawing the portrait in order to convey a better sense of proportion and volume without resorting to overdrawing.
To paint the portraits we will explore how to mix colors, determine shadows and work with colour harmonies. Then, using a range of techniques such as wet-into-wet, dry brush and layering from light to dark we will work through at least two complete paintings.

 

Ian de Hoog is a Canadian watercolourist and instructor living out on the West Coast of British Columbia. Ian developed an early visual interest in the medium due to the works of Franklin Carmichael and Toni Onley. However, it was during a brief stint studying architecture that a physical love of painting manifested. While primarily self-taught, Ian is very grateful for the recent opportunities he has had to study with Thomas Schaller and Herman Pekel. instagram.com/iandehoogart/

This class was held live over Zoom in the past.