Ian de Hoog – Birds in Watercolor: Delving Deeper with Elegant Trogon, Eastern Bluebird, Varied Thrush and Wild Turkey (Online ); Saturdays, October 7-November 4, 2023

This class is no longer available for registration. Please view our Online Course Catalog for current class listings.

Class Dates: Saturdays, October 7-28, 2023
Time:
2:00-5:00 PM Pacific Time (5:00-8:00 PM Eastern Time/11:00 PM-2:00AM London Time)
One-Hour Critique Session Saturday, November 4; 2PM Pacific; 5PM Eastern; 9PM UK Time
Level:
All
Medium: 
Watercolor

Supply List PDF – right-click or option-click to download

Delve deeper into painting birds in watercolor with Ian de Hoog in this 4-week online class. Each week’s focus will be on the process of painting a specific species of bird. Weekly subjects will include:

  • Elegant Trogon
  • Eastern Bluebird
  • Varied Thrush
  • Wild Turkey

 

Each session will start with a presentation/demonstration, followed by student participation. Students will be able to show their work online for individual and group discussions. There will also be an online forum where they can share their paintings, leave comments and ask questions. Recordings of each session will be available to stream each week.

Please note, you do not need to have taken Ian’s  Birds in Watercolor class before taking this class. However, a knowledge of drawing  good shapes is crucial to success in painting birds. This is not a “drawing birds” class.

Ian de Hoog is a Canadian artist and teacher working primarily in watercolour. He is an active member of the South Surrey and White Rock Arts Society, Semiahmoo Arts Society and the Federation of Canadian Artists. As an instructor, Ian is a frequent contributor to the Visiting Artists series for the Opus Arts Supply chain in British Columbia and is a watercolour instructor at the Shadbolt Centre for Fine Arts in Burnaby, BC. In addition to this Ian has also travelled throughout BC to give various workshops and demonstrations to different art groups and societies.

This class is no longer available for registration because it was held in the past.  Please view our Online Course Catalog to see current classes.

Search Winslow classes by instructor, day, month, medium or keyword.