Gage Opdenbrouw – The Limited Palette Applied: Landscape (Online); Wednesdays, May 22-June 12, 2024

This class is no longer available for registration. Please view our Online Course Catalog for current class listings.

Date: Wednesdays, May 22-June 12, 2024
Time: 10:30 AM-1:00 PM Pacific Time, 1:30-4:00 PM Eastern Time, 6:30-9:00 PM UK Time
Level: All
Medium: All (instructor will work in oil); may also include drawing exercises, in pencil, and ink wash

Supply List

A dive into designing and structuring big pictorial space with close tones and a limited palette, incorporating inspiration and lessons from Corot and other masters of space.

Students will be given a materials list with a variety of limited palette options/suggestions to choose from.

For the first two weeks, students will paint small scale transcriptions from Corot, Inness, and other 19th century landscape painters who knew how to coax vast spaces from close tones through careful design.  Instructor will provide images so that we can compare and contrast your individual responses to the same sources.

In the last two sessions, students will apply their observations to their own motifs, whether from life or photos, and share their own original work making use of the limited palette, this powerful tool for unity and nuance.

All mediums welcome, I will be painting in oil, and may also include drawing exercises, in pencil, and ink wash, in the first portion of the workshop.  Instructor will share his own work and works by painters contemporary and historical as examples and for inspiration, and the last session will be devoted primarily to critique of student work.

This class is no longer available for registration because it was held in the past.  Please view our Online Course Catalog to see current classes.

Search Winslow classes by instructor, day, month, medium or keyword.