Gage Opdenbrouw – Just a Glass of Water: Meditative Still Life Painting (Online); Tuesdays, June 11-July 2, 2024

This class is no longer available for registration. Please view our Online Course Catalog for current class listings.

Date: Tuesdays, June 11- July 2, 2024
Time: 10:30 AM-1:00 PM Pacific Time, 1:30-4:00 PM Eastern Time, 6:30-9:00 PM UK Time
Level: All
Medium: All

In this class, students will focus on staging a ‘simple’ subject for visual drama and incident of observation.

By limiting our ‘subject’ to a humble glass of water, we will explore setting the stage for light, color, abstraction, mark making, description, and space, all on our kitchen table.  With one simple constraint, we will explore an endless variety of forms, spaces, and lighting conditions.  Students will work from their own still life setups at home, with plenty of class time devoted to discussion of and examples of creative setup strategies to make the most of this simple theater of light.

4 weeks, each class will include live demo, slide lecture, Timelapses and discussion of student work.

This class is no longer available for registration because it was held in the past.  Please view our Online Course Catalog to see current classes.

Search Winslow classes by instructor, day, month, medium or keyword.