Gage Opdenbrouw – Absorbing the Lessons of the Masters: Chardin (Online); Tuesdays, February 20-March 12, 2024

This class is no longer available for registration. Please view our Online Course Catalog for current class listings.

Date: Tuesdays, February 20-March 12, 2024
Time: 10:30 AM-1:30 PM Pacific Time, 1:30-4:30 PM Eastern Time, 6:30-9:30 PM London Time
Level: All
Medium: All

Beautifully appropriate for midwinter, Chardin’s beautifully austere and sensual still lifes have inspired generations of painters, with their beautiful rich tonal color, subtle surfaces, and atmosphere at once humble and reverent.  In this class, we will work with drawing and painting, limited palettes, direct transcription, and our own investigations inspired by this master of the rich beauty and humble dignity of the of the everyday.

Born in 1977 and raised in Northern California, Gage Opdenbrouw is an award winning painter, teacher, and woodworker, who until recent times, traveled frequently both to paint and to teach. He now teaches live online courses in drawing and painting to artists from all over the country and around the world.

When he’s not working, he is most often found in Northern California among some of the tallest and quietest trees on earth, where the illuminated fog sweeps in from the pacific. He shares his home and studio in the redwoods with his love, writer Kelly Gray, and two dogs: Hank, a terrier/beagle who remembers every single place he ever found street chicken, and Nootka, a very vocal and sweet husky pup who looks like the best giant squirrel ever. He plays bass and guitar, very poorly and with great enthusiasm. www.gageopdenbrouw.com

This class is no longer available for registration because it was held in the past.  Please view our Online Course Catalog to see current classes.