Cynthia Armstrong - Painting Negative Spaces in Watercolor (Online); Mondays, October 18-November 15, 2021

This class is no longer available for registration. View the Online Course Catalog for all current class listings.

Class Dates & Times: Mondays, October 18-November 15, 2021 – 10:00 AM-12:00 PM Pacific Time, 1:00-3:00 PM Eastern Time
Critique Sessions: Sundays, October 24-November 21, 2021 – 3:00-4:00 PM Pacific Time, 6:00-7:00 PM Eastern Time
Level: All
Medium: Watercolors

Supply List PDF (right-click or option-click to download)

This course will demystify negative space painting for beginners and intermediate watercolor artists. From shape-making (working with positive and negative shapes), simplified design strategies to must-know color basics, each week will build upon lessons and techniques to train the student to think and see in a different way. The fundamentals of glazing to develop depth and richness will be extensively covered. Negative painting can be employed for many styles, from realistic to abstraction, and once mastered, bring a valuable tool to watercolor repertoires. Lecture, instructor demonstration and student participation will cement understanding.

Cynthia Armstrong holds a graduate certificate degree from UC Santa Cruz in Science Illustration and a Master’s degree in Education from Stanford University. She has been a freelance illustrator and artist for over 25 years, and a teacher for the past 20 years. Cynthia, as a published illustrator, has traveled and journaled extensively throughout her career. Her client list includes the New York Botanical Gardens, U.S. National Park Service, the Maine State Museum, U.S. Forest Service, and the California Native Plant Society. www.cynthiaarmstrongart.com

This class is no longer available for registration.