Cynthia Armstrong – Fantastic Beetles (Online); Wednesdays, November 8-December 6, 2023 (no class November 22)

This class is no longer available for registration. Please view our Online Course Catalog for current class listings.

Dates: Wednesdays, November 8-December 6, 2023 (no class November 22)
Time: 10:00 AM-12:00 PM Pacific Time, 1:00-3:00 PM Eastern Time, 6:00-8:00 PM London Time
Critique Sessions: Tuesdays, November 14-December 12, 1:00 PM Pacific, 4:00 PM Eastern, 9:00 PM London Time
Level: All
Medium: Watercolor & ink

Supply List

It’s reported there are over 350,000 known species of beetles in the world. Long been prized by collectors due to their variety in shape, size and gorgeous coloration and patterning; beetles’ alien beauty have also been a fascination for artists. In this class, we will spend 4 weeks exploring how to illustrate a few of these remarkable critters while learning a variety of watercolor and ink/bleach (!) techniques. Suitable for all skill levels.

Cynthia Armstrong holds a graduate certificate degree from UC Santa Cruz in Science Illustration and a Master’s degree in Education from Stanford University. She has been a freelance illustrator and artist for over 25 years, and a teacher for the past 20 years. Cynthia, as a published illustrator, has traveled and journaled extensively throughout her career. Her client list includes the New York Botanical Gardens, U.S. National Park Service, the Maine State Museum, U.S. Forest Service, and the California Native Plant Society. www.cynthiaarmstrongart.com

This class is no longer available for registration because it was held in the past.  Please view our Online Course Catalog to see current classes.

Search Winslow classes by instructor, day, month, medium or keyword.