Amy Brnger - Building a Great Painting, From the Inside Out (Online); Thursdays, October 21-November 11, 2021

This class was held live over Zoom in the past and has ended. View the Online Course Catalog for all current class listings.

Date: Thursdays, October 21-November 11, 2021
Time: 11:00 AM-1:30PM Pacific Time, 2:00-4:30 PM Eastern Time, 7:00-9:30 PM London Time
Level: All
Medium: Drawing/Oil or Acrylics

Supply List PDF – right-click or option-click to download

This course explores the backbone behind an engaging, dynamic, and energetic painting.  We will explore flowers, still life, and landscape and use the genres as means to construct paintings that are lively.  Participants will work with Amy, observing demonstrations and working together on specific constructs each week. Demonstrations will be painted in oil, though other mediums are welcome.

  1. Find the major forms
  2. Object relations
  3. Color and Contrast
  4. Bold color, strokes, and layers

 

Amy Brnger, from Eliot, Maine, has painted still life, flowers, interiors and landscape for as long as she has been an artist. Nature is her vehicle, and she enjoys painting places and things with and about which she is familiar or curious. Forgotten and overlooked places are particular ly intriguing. Flowers from her garden are also a favorite.  Her paintings are expressive, energetic, and attempt to capture the changing nature of living things.

Amy has been teaching painting since 2012, but has been a painter for over 35 years.  Thanks to the Coronavirus, she finally took the plunge and learned how to teach online and loves it. 

This class was held live over Zoom in the past.