Amis Balcomb - Simple Sketch - Repetition and Patterns: Designing From Nature (Online); Sundays, April 18-May 16 (no class May 9),2021

Date: Sundays, April 18-May 16 (no class May 9)
Time:  11:00 AM-1:00PM Pacific Time, 2:00-4:00 PM Eastern Time, 7:00-9:00 PM London Time
Level: All
Medium: Drawing

Join Amis Balcomb in an exploration of shapes in nature in this four-week Simple Sketch workshop. We will create repetitions of pattern designs inspired by nature, using simple tools such as a water soluble graphite crayon, waterproof ink pen, pencil, watercolor, and carbon transfer,

We all have access to nature in our yards, our parks and even in our grocery stores. As artists, observers and appreciators, we are able to bear witness to what nature has to offer in its seemingly infinite varieties of life forms, from their beginnings to their endings. Nature uses shapes in repeating patterns such as in the structures in leaves and the patterns of how leaves grow on a stem. A sliced apple or orange or persimmon provide kaleidoscopic opportunities of patterns to spin off on. The possibilities are endless.

About Our Online Classes:

  • Our live online classes are taught via Zoom. To take this class, you need a microphone and camera enabled computer OR an iPad /smart tablet OR a smart phone (android or IOS) and a strong internet connection.
  • Interact with the instructor and other participants, watch live demos and receive feedback and instruction. You will have access to a class chat forum on our website where you can share work, comment and ask questions.
  • Class will be recorded and recordings expire 30 days after the final day of the course.
  • Participants will receive an email with the Zoom link and class details 5-7 days before the class starts (don’t forget to check your junk folder). Zoom link will also be posted in the class message board. Find out how to access the class group message board here. 

In stock

$150.00